Top Ten Tuesday #14: If you like Gillian Flynn, you might like…

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, participating bloggers create a list corresponding to a particular theme. This week our goal is to link up bloggers and readers with some perhaps less well-known books that they might enjoy if they are already fans of a particular author or book. My post is coming kind of late on Tuesday due to some unforeseen circumstances and it was a bit hard for me to get creative with this one but I will do my best! I decided to explore the realm of “dark and twisty” books that fans of Gillian Flynn’s work might enjoy. Some of the books that came to me are more obvious connections than others (though I am not including The Girl on the Train as I feel that everyone already compares those) but in my personal opinion I feel that each of these has at least one similar element to either/all of Dark PlacesSharp Objects or of course Gone Girl:

  1. Before I Go To Sleep, S.J. Watson (2011)
  2. The Girl with All the Gifts, M.R. Carey (2014)
  3. Shutter Island, Dennis Lehane (2003)
  4. Fight Club, Chuck Palahniuk (1996)
  5. The Fever, Megan Abbott (2014)
  6. Where They Found Her, Kimberly McCreight (2015)
  7. The Husband’s Secret, Liane Moriarty (2013)
  8. The Secret History, Donna Tartt (1992)
  9. The Millennium Series, Stieg Larsson (2005-)
  10. The Cuckoo’s Calling, J.K. Rowling as Robert Galbraith (2013)

What are your thoughts on dark books/thrillers? What connections did you make in your TTT? Feel free to share below. I also have a TON of book reviews planned for the next couple of days!

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #14: If you like Gillian Flynn, you might like…

    • Thanks Leslie!! I thought that Fight Club was one of the rare instances where the movie was better than the book but it is one of my favorite movies and the book itself is still great too. Just won’t be as much of a surprise twist :p

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

