Top Ten Tuesday #10: Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, participating bloggers create a list corresponding to a particular theme. This week we are listing ten characters that we just didn’t “click” with. Some of these characters came to me instantly but for a few others I went through my lower rated books on Goodreads and selected the ones I enjoyed less because I couldn’t identify with the characters. Here goes:

  1. Rachel from The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
  2. Cadence from We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
  3. Eadlyn from The Heir by Kiera Cass
  4. Madeleine from The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides
  5. George from Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker
  6. Elise from The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons
  7. Mary Queen of Scots from The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory (I guess I will never be royal :\ )
  8. Blue from Special Topics in Calamity Physics by Marisha Pessl
  9. Camille from Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
  10. Annie from The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster by Scott Wilbanks

I also wanted to apologize for not posting in a while! I had a busy week & my college roommate’s bachelorette party all weekend! I am anticipating lots more free time in the coming weeks and months though, so expect some more reviews rather soon πŸ™‚

What characters did you just not click with? Do you agree with mine?? Let me know πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #10: Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With

  1. I had a hard time clicking with Kelsea from The Queen of the Tearling. She seemed like a nice girl with values, but too flighty to realistically get the job done. She just kind of rubbed me the wrong way.

    Liked by 1 person

      • I still think you should read it. The story is intriguing and it gets better towards the end. I haven’t read the second book yet, but I heard it is good. It’s worth giving it a chance. It’s the author’s first book, and she shows a lot of potential. I think it’s worth supporting an author like that!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: TOP TEN TUESDAY: Top ten reasons to do a top ten list…on a Tuesday | The Avid Reader – Books, Books, Books!

  3. I’m glad to finally find someone else who just didn’t *get* Rachel from The Girl On The Train! She drove me crazy in so many ways. I was so surprised to find such an unlikeable character as the centre of such a popular book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree! I liked the writing of the book in general and found the buildup of suspense to be good but I really couldn’t love the book because Rachel was so completely pathetic!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

