WWW Wednesday #5

img_1384-0

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. Participating bloggers answer 3 simple questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What are you going to read next?

Currently Reading

In *addition* to my current reads from last week, I have added:

  • A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson: This is like a sequel/companion book to Life After Life. The writing is good, but the plot for me is definitely not as compelling as its predecessor. I’m in the middle and it is dragging right now.
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: I reserved the audiobook from the library because it kept coming up on lists of best audiobooks. Wil Wheaton is the narrator and even though I am still only on the first disc (of 13) I can tell why this narration keeps making these lists. His voice is perfect for this story, which I am loving so far. Fun fact, my husband talks to Wil Wheaton on Reddit occasionally πŸ™‚
  • The Shining by Stephen King: Picked this up from B&N after work yesterday waiting to go out to dinner and read about 80 pages in the store. After that I already felt like I needed to hide it in the freezer πŸ˜‰ BrpIupLCAAAIZlL

Recently Finished

Planning to Read Next

  • The Martian by Andy Weir (for real this time, I am starting tonight!!)
  • The Marriage of Opposites by Alice Hoffman

Feel free to comment on my choices and share your own WWW Wednesday listΒ with me!

16 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday #5

  1. I want to read Ready Player One as well! The Shining is probably one of my favorite books ever, but definitely scary. Not a book to read when you’re alone or at night! πŸ˜‰ I’m going to try and read The Martian soon as well.

    Happy reading! Here is my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • If you are into audiobooks I would definitely recommend that you read Ready Player One in that format. Even though I’m at the beginning, it’s just great this way. I am loving The Shining in all of its creepiness. I was going to read more last night and then decided against it if I wanted to get some sleep :p

      Thanks for sharing your WWW!!

      Liked by 1 person

    • He’s absolutely an awesome writer. The creepy factor is just so high for me sometimes that I don’t even want to look at the book :p

      I hope your week is wonderful also! And thank you for sharing your WWW list!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I thought Ready Player One was ok, but not as awesome as some of the reviews make out. That said, I’m sure it would be greatly improved by listening to Wil Wheaton read it. In fact, one of the funniest jokes in the book is a Wil Wheaton gag which made me laugh out loud πŸ™‚
    The Martian might well be the next book I read. It’s currently that or Red Queen…
    Here’s my WWW: http://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/08/05/www-wednesday-5th-august-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

    • At first I totally thought that the author picked him to read it just because Wil Wheaton and Wade Watts are the same initials :p but really his voice and tone match up with this story so well so far.

      I really AM going to start The Martian later and hubby thinks I’ll be able to get through it very quickly so hopefully I can review it soon and help you decide. On your list I would also recommend Station Eleven πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing your WWW! This is the first time that I have listened to an audiobook that he narrates but I don’t think it will be the last. He reads Cline’s next book (Armada) too. As for Stephen King I am a wimp and have only read some of his non-horror books, but I am trying to get into the rest now. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Stephen King is WAY too creep for me. And I have a scary story related to a book of his from my childhood so NOPE. Ready Player One sounds fun! I’ll add it to my list for audio books. It takes me FOREVER to get through audiobooks, even though I drive a fair amount as a homeschool mom. My kids like to talk to me in the car (!!! I know, right?!!!) so I need to be available for that and I don’t have much other time for audio books. If I’m not driving, I want to be reading a book, not listening to it.

    My WWW this week is here: http://www.foofynotfoofy.com/foofynotfoofy/2015/8/5/www-wednesday-05-08-2015

    Liked by 1 person

    • I definitely also only listen to audiobooks while I’m driving. I have some friends who listen on the treadmill so I might try that too at some point, but otherwise definitely agree with you there. When you get a chance, I really do recommend this one πŸ™‚ I guess I should enjoy my solo driving/listening time while I don’t have any kids! You’re a good mom πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. So many good books! ‘The Martian’ is awesome. If you’re liking ‘Ready Player One,’ I think you’ll like it. I read ‘Life After Life’ and thought it dragged so I can imagine how the sequel would drag as well! Great Friends quote. I love that episode. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I just bought Ready Player One yesterday, and I hope we both have loads of fun with it!

    I really enjoyed The Martian, so I hope you love it! Plus, MATT DAMON in the house yay!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am loving both books so far soooo much. The one thing is that I keep only picturing Matt Damon as Watney instead of having the chance to come up with my own mental picture :p but it could be a worse picture, haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

