Top Ten Tuesday #5: Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week participating bloggers create a list corresponding to a particular theme. I LOVE this week’s theme which asks us to list ten characters who are also book nerds! I feel like most of the fictional book nerds on my list are pretty obvious but oh well šŸ™‚

1. Hermione Granger, Harry Potter series (J.K. Rowling): This might be the first one that most people think of these days when picturing a fictional book nerd, but think of all the times that Hermione’s voracious reading and thirst for knowledge and learning saved the trio, and in effect the wizarding world, from a lot of trouble. harry-potter-read

2. Matilda, Matilda (Roald Dahl): I identified soooo much with Matilda growing up. Except that my parents weren’t jerks like hers. :p tumblr_m2up98SXJw1qhd14co4_r1_250

3. Cath Avery, Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell): I wish that this book was out when I was in college, it would have made my transition to being away from home and living with a roommate easier. Again I don’t have the family problems that Cath experienced in this book but I still completely understand the way that she used her obsession to escape.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

4. Tyrion Lannister, A Song of Ice and Fire series (George R.R. Martin): Tyrion is my fave character in the entire series (and the accompanying TV show) and I’ll always find an excuse to use him on a TTT list if I can šŸ˜‰ tyrion-lannister-reading

5. Liesel Meminger, The Book Thief (Markus Zusak): Liesel’s love of reading drives the whole story.

Source: Pinterest

Source: Pinterest

6. Hazel Grace Lancaster, The Fault in Our Stars (John Green): Hazel is more of a book nerd about one particular book, but her love of this book and the way she shares it with Augustus drives much of the plot. 635537765015860263-IMPERIALAFFLICTION

7. Charlie, The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky): Charlie is another character who uses books to escape and reads extra, advanced books outside of his English class that his teacher recommends.

Source: Tumblr

Source: Tumblr

8. Jo March, Little Women (Louisa May Alcott): Not just one of the best examples of a devoted reader, but a writer as well.

Source: Tumblr

Source: Tumblr

9. Juliet Ashton, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer): I actually didn’t really enjoy this book, but I did appreciate Juliet’s passion for books and especially bookstores.

Found on Pinterest; creator sourced in image

Found on Pinterest; creator sourced in image

10. Diana Bishop, All Souls trilogy (Deborah Harkness): It was so easy to be carried away by the descriptions of the Bodleian Library and the magic of the old books within its shelves.

This is the library where Diana researches. So dreamy.

This is the library where Diana researches. So dreamy.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #5: Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds

    • Haha, it happens! Your list is good too. I am trying to follow your blog but it isn’t working from my work computer for some reason so I will have to try again when I get home. šŸ™‚

      Like

    • I love bookworm characters because it’s so fun to see myself in them. I think that out of all of them I’m the most like Cath so I could never forget her! šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

