Top Ten Tuesday #4: Books With Diverse Characters

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers create a list of ten books corresponding with a given theme. This week asks bloggers to list ten books celebrating diversity or that feature diverse characters. I really liked this theme, but it also helped me to realize that I should diversify my reading much more. I have tried to be extra diverse in my list of diverse books by featuring books with varying types of diversity, not just those with characters of a different race/ethnicity/religion than the majority or than my own.

1. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (multiple types of diversity, including mental illness and sexual orientation) cvr9781451696202_9781451696202_hr

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (main characters have cancer) The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

3.  The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (main character is on the autism spectrum) 1618

4. A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R.R. Martin (sexual orientation; race; dwarfism [my beloved Tyrion]) Game_of_thrones

5. The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller (sexual orientation) SongAchilles-pb-c

6. Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison (race) 41k3CtamoXL

7. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (main character is paraplegic)

Hardcover edition; Pamela Dorman, 2012. 384 pages.

8. The Help by Kathryn Stockett (race) 4667024

9. The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan (race; ethnicity) 51dZo1o3-iL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

10. The Book Thief by Markus Zuzak (religion) book_thief

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #4: Books With Diverse Characters

  1. I have “Me before you” on my shelf and didn’t even know that it could be seen as diverse, thanks for pointing that out to me.
    I keep seeing “Song of Achilles” on lists i should really check that book out.
    Great list

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

