Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This is my first time participating and I will try to keep up with it. Every week has a different theme (for over five years now!) and this week asks bloggers to list the top ten books they have read this year so far. Here is my list – if I’ve reviewed a book I will link to the review.

Top Ten Tues June 30

1. Uprooted by Naomi Novik – This was the first book I received from NetGalley and I adored it. Uprooted is a beautiful fantasy tale with a little romance, a lot of action, and descriptive, enthralling writing. I bought my own hardcover as soon as I was done and I know I’ll reread it many times.

2. Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – This was an amazing, gorgeously written piece of post-apocalyptic sci-fi and definitely one of my new favorites.

3. The Secret History by Donna Tartt – I have wanted to read this forever and found a well-worn copy of it in the ship’s library on our honeymoon cruise. A college-campus-based murder mystery infused with ancient Greek mythology – it was everything I hoped it would be!

4. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty – My first audiobook and a touching work that, to me, went far beyond the normal bounds of contemporary “chick-lit.”

5. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott – A favorite from my youth that I reread after buying a beautiful copy designed by Anna Bond from Rifle Paper Co. It was great to return to this book now that I’m at a very different stage in my life since my last read, and it is well-deserving of its spot as a classic.

6. 11/22/63 by Stephen King – While I felt that parts could be shortened, overall this was a really wonderful, unique combination of sci-fi and historical fiction.

7. Paper Towns by John Green – Read in anticipation of the film, not my favorite John Green book, but extremely well-written, heartwarming and fun.

8. Invisible City by Julia Dahl – A very interesting mystery/thriller that I picked up strictly based on the cover and description, this book explores a murder amongst the extremely religious Hasidic Jews living in Brooklyn, and the particular complications that can arise in such a situation based on the fact that this group has their own police force and other quasi-governmental institutions. I’m excited to know that there is soon to be a sequel.

9. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – This book took me FOREVER to read but the payoff was worth it. I am obsessed with all things Tudor and British history in general so this was no exception. I love the idea of telling a popular story through the eyes of someone else, in this case Thomas Cromwell. I began to read the sequel, Bring Up The Bodies (a title which, if you are a law nerd like me, you might want to know relates to the development of the doctrine of habeas corpus), but put it on hold for now because it really needs to be an “only book” type of book and I have a few other current reads at the moment.

10. Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty – My first Liane Moriarty book, I didn’t love this one as much as The Husband’s Secret but liked it enough to pick that one up. This essentially starts out as an innocent, chick-lit drama between kindergarteners and their moms but gets so, so much darker than that.

Feel free to comment with thoughts/suggestions/links to your own set of top ten books! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

    • I preferred The Fault in Our Stars, but this is probably my second favorite John Green book that I have read so far. It was a great coming-of-age story 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

